Stating A Preference

Sometimes you need to state a preference when someone makes a suggestion, offer something or asks your opinion about what to do. Other times, people have made an offer and you need to state a preference politely if you don’t want to do what has been suggested, or would rather do something else.

Example:

  1. Would you like to seea film tonight ?

I’d rather go dancing.How does that sound ?

  1. Why don’t we have some Chinese food?

Well, I’d prefer eating Italian. What do you think ?

  1. What do you think we should do?

If it were up to me, I’d go out for dinner.

  1. What are we going to do today ? The weather is awful !

I think we should go to the museum.

CONSTRUCTION

Formula Verb form
I’d rather … Use the base form of the verb without ‘to’ with ‘rather’
I’d prefer … Use the ‘–ing’ form following the verb ‘prefer’
If it were up to me, I’d … Use the second conditional form followed by the base form of the verb without ’to’
I think we should … Use the base form of the verb without ‘to’ following the modal form ‘should’
Why don’t we …? Use the base form of the verb in a question
Let’s go … Use the base form of the verb with ‘let’s’
How about … ? Use the ‘-ing’ form of the verb after a preposition –here ‘about.

Leave a Reply

